Great Practice – or Learning!

There is nothing like Periodic Table Battleship to get them practicing the periodic table 🙂

Periodic table battleship

 

Update!  When I do this I split the class into pairs and give them the set up.  I would start off having them call out element names or atomic numbers, then I would have them use the period/group number to call out the elements.  To challenge the students at a higher level I have them call out atomic masses or electronegativity.  To mark the “ships” I had them draw on the periodic table (its laminated) but next time I will use bingo chips.  Hope that helps!

10 responses to “Great Practice – or Learning!

  1. I love this idea. What are u having them quiz on? Valence electrons or configurations, atomic numbers, etc? Would love to see more ideas – are the gummy bear osmosis and modeling the atom your ideas too?

    • When I do this I split the class into pairs and give them the set up. I would start off having them call out element names or atomic numbers, then I would have them use the period/group number to call out the elements. To challenge the students at a higher level I have them call out atomic masses or electronegativity. Hope that helps!

    • Also, yes I found and modified the gummy bear osmosis for my classroom, and modeling the atom was my idea – have done it with candies in the past, but I really liked the bingo chips this year!

    • When I do this I split the class into pairs and give them the set up. I would start off having them call out element names or atomic numbers, then I would have them use the period/group number to call out the elements. To challenge the students at a higher level I have them call out atomic masses or electronegativity. Hope that helps!

    • I change it up depending on the class and how we are using it. If it’s when I am introducing the table I might pick 2 or 3 boats that are 3 elements long, and then make more boats in different sizes as they improve at the game to keep it challenging.

Leave a Reply

